Blog #3: ESPN Super Bowl XLV Matchup Preview

Today I went on to ESPN, which is a daily routine in my life, to see if there is anything going on in particular in the world of sports. The ESPN was showing some key position matchups between the Packers versus Steelers for Super Bowl XLV, which will be happening in a few hours. I thought it would be a good idea for me to “pretend” I’m a NFL professional analyst and I pretend I am hosting a preview of the Super Bowl XLV position matchups between the Packers and the Steelers in my own way. This is how it goes.

When the Green Bay Packers last met the Pittsburgh Steelers 13 months ago, it was a “last moment” game where Ben Roethlisberger threw a last-gasp touchdown to win the game 37:36. And now they meed again on February 6th to declare who is the last team standing among the 32 teams that started this hard fought journey. The Packers and Steelers have been two of the most successful franchises in NFL history and regardless of the outcome,  the fans are sure to come out winners.

These are some position matchups between the Packers vs Steelers for Super Bowl XLV:

Quarterbacks: Packers – Aaron Rodgers / Steelers – Ben Roethlisberger

Both quarterbacks are not the best quarterbacks in the NFL currently but they both play with high mentality. If Aaron Rodgers keep up his game in the NFC championship, I believe Aaron Rodgers has the advantage for Ben Roethlisberger.

Wide Receivers: Packers – James Jones, Jordy Nelson, Donald Driver, Greg Jenning / Steelers – Hines Ward, Mike Wallace, Heath Miller

The Packers wide receivers have been playing great this season. When they do get it going, this team is unbeatable and can get through any defense. Skill-wise they might be better than the Steelers receivers, but they have more experience and I feel that will make the difference in this Super Bowl. I believe the Steelers wide receivers have advantage.

Running Backs: Packers – Brandon Jackson, James Starks, John Kuhn / Steelers – Isaac Redman, Rashard Mendenhall

James Starks has done a pretty good job for the Packers this season but not as good as the Steelers running backs. Especially Rashard Mendenhall will try to each every inch possible. I believe the Steelers running backs have advantage.

The Coach: Packers – Mike McCarthy / Steelers – Mike Tomlin

Mike Tomlin did a great job when his quarterback Ben Roethlisberger was suspended for a couple of games in the start of the season. He has the ability to not panic and be calm in intense situations and I think that will help a lot in Super Bowl. I believe the Steelers coach have advantage.

Franchise History: Packers – 9 NFL Championships, 3 Super Bowl Titles, 13 Conference Titles, 26 Playoff appearance / Steelers – 6 Super Bowl Titles, 8 Conference Titles, 26 Playoff appearance

The Packers and Steelers have been playing against each other since 1930s and the Packers lead the all-time series against the Steelers 18-14. As a franchise, the Packers do have more achievements than the Steelers so statistically, Packers is a overall better team than the Steelers in history. Packers have the advantage in franchise history.

I have a feeling the Super Bowl XLV will be a classic matchup. There isn’t going to be a lot of scoring but more through defense. The game 13 months ago between these two teams were one of the best games I watched and I’m really excited about this years Super Bowl. If I would pick a team I would choose the Steelers because of their recent success in the Super Bowl. I predict the score to be 27-23 Steelers.

 

Leave a comment